Today: May 28 , 2020

Yavapai College Foundation Holds Annual Meeting

12 July 2009   Becky Bullis

At it's 2009 Annual Meeting, the Yavapai College Foundation presented awards to several people who "clearly understand the importance of Yavapai Community College".

L to R: Steve Walker, Jan Mackay, Jean Phillips and Howard Moody.

Prescott, AZ – Yavapai College Foundation (YCF) held its 2009 annual meeting luncheon Wednesday, June 10th at the on-campus Susan N. Webb Community Room. YC Foundation President, Howard Moody welcomed guests and stated, “I am proud to report that despite the unprecedented economic downturn that embraced most of the fiscal 2008-09 year, your Yavapai College Foundation continued to make impressive strides on behalf of Yavapai College.”


YCF Executive Director Steve Walker presented awards to individuals whom he said, “clearly understand the importance of Yavapai Community College (YCC) and have given tirelessly of their precious time and resources to help its continued success and growth.” Mary Lea Adkins was the first to be honored for her service on the YCF Board. Mary retired from the Board after serving as Secretary and member of the Executive and Scholarship Committees. An Outstanding Initiative Award went to Greater Verde Valley Chapter (GVVC) President Bob Oliphant for his accomplishments and many ongoing priorities. De Rhoades Dolan received the Benevolence Award. De established an endowed scholarship fund that has grown to benefit almost 100 students. Katherine C. Weiger was also honored by the placement of a memorial plaque in the Sculpture Garden, at the base of Michael Anderson’s “Seated Woman” to recognize her many contributions to the arts. Katherine’s husband Ralph formerly served as YCF Board President.

The final award, and the first “Presidents Award For Lifetime Achievement” ever given by YCC and YCF, was presented to founding member Jean Phillips. Throughout 3 decades of YCF involvement, Jean has served as past President of the YCF Board and most notably, established the Scholarship Program, through which hundreds of students have received millions of dollars in scholarships from more than eighty endowed scholarship funds, leading them on to becoming successful professionals and community leaders. She also has been a major supporter of the FRIENDS of YC Art, which was instrumental in the creation of the beautiful YCC Sculpture Garden. Earlier this spring, the new Phillips Amphitheater was completed, and named in honor of Jean’s late husband Dr. Mel Phillips, thanks to a significant contribution that was made by their daughter, Jan Mackay.

Yavapai College Foundation is a 501 (c) (3) non profit organization that supports Yavapai College in fulfilling its mission to provide high quality, cost effective education. The foundation, governed by a volunteer board representative of the community, supports student scholarships, faculty development and programs that enrich both campus and community life. Members, staff and volunteers actively seek contributions from a variety of public and private sources, including individuals, corporations and other foundations.

For further information on Yavapai College Foundation call (928) 776-2025.


L to R: Steve Walker, De Rhoads Dolan, Howard Moody



Bob Oliphant, Howard Moody