Today: May 28 , 2020

Nominees Announced for the 2010 Cycle Awards

21 October 2010   Lisa Barnes, PAT Executive Director

Prescott Alternative Transportation Announces the Nominees for the 2010 CYCLE Awards; Winners to be Announced November 6 at Pedals & Pumps Gala.

pedalspumpsThe nominees of the 2010 CYCLE (Central Yavapai Community Leadership Excellence) Awards have been released by Prescott Alternative Transportation. These awards are intended to publicly recognize individuals and businesses/organizations who have demonstrated a commitment to a higher quality of life by supporting a bicycle and pedestrian friendly community.

Prescott Alternative Transportation’s (PAT’s) Board of Directors develops the list  of nominees in four categories based on service to the community. In 2009, the inaugural year for the awards, the Board also voted for who should win. This year, current members of PAT have the privilege of voting for who wins; voting has been in progress for a couple months.

The winners of the awards will be announced and presented with their prize at the 2010 Pedals & Pumps Gala on November 6, at the site of the former Granite Dells Resort and Pool. This historic location, built in the late 1800s, has been the site  of local family recreation as well as the setting for Hollywood movies; its future could be as the hub of myriad outdoor tourism activities.

The Pedals & Pumps Gala is not  only where the CYCLE Awards winners are announced, but also includes a wonderful Southwest meal, open bar, live entertainment, and auction fundraiser for PAT’s ongoing advocacy work. Prescott Alternative Transportation is a nonprofit organization with a mission to work towards a bicycle and pedestrian friendly central Yavapai community; it serves that mission through advocacy, education and direct programming such as the very successful Safe Routes to School program. PAT collaborates with various other community organizations like Prescott Creeks and Open Space Alliance, as well as local governmental entities like City traffic engineers and Yavapai County Health Services to improve everyone’s quality of life by making it safer for all travelers – regardless of age, ability or income, and regardles of mode of travel chosen.

Tickets for the Pedals & Pumps Gala are $35, or  table of eight for $200. PAT members receive discounts on tickets.

The nominees for the 2010 CYCLE Awards are:


  • Tom Pettit
  • Jan Alfano
  • Rob Hehlen
  • Mike Fann


  • New Belgium Brewing
  • The Raven Café
  • Prescott Coffee Roasters


  • Eric Smith (Parks & Rec/Trails)
  • Sgt. Tim Fletcher (Police Dept.)
  • Cat Moody (GIS specialist)


  • Miller Valley Elementary
  • Yavapai Trails Association
  • The Mural Mice (Prescott Downtown Mural Project)

More details about the accomplishments of these nominees, as well as how members may vote for them, are available on the Prescott Alternative Transportation website:  Only the votes of current PAT members will be counted towards who wins the awards.

Additional information about the Pedals & Pumps Gala or about Prescott Alternative Transportation can also be found on the website, by calling 928-708-0911, or by emailing